Welcome to the Family Furry [fyoo r-ee]

Well, I made it five whole blog posts before I absolutely had to talk about cats. Told you I’m a crazy cat lady. 🙂

I’ve had a one-cat household for quite a while now. I found Loki when I was in undergrad (but that’s a story for another blog post). She lived with my roommate’s cat for a year, and has been an only-cat ever since. Except the odd occasion when I would cat sit for a friend.

I had wanted to adopt a second cat for a few years, but always had reservations… On December 2, we welcomed my second fur baby to the household.

A few weeks ago I stopped at the Kitchener Waterloo Humane Society. Of course, this required that I stop to visit all of the animals. Through the glass, I fell in love with a cat. A huge, black, fluffy cat. He came up the the window and played with us. But, when I went to ask about him, adoption hours were over. After having some serious talks about what kind of feline personality would fit into our home, we went back a few days later.

Wanting to beat the Black Friday rush, we met almost all of the cats that were on the adoption floor. They were all wonderful. Really! We made some good connections with the animals, but I didn’t find anyone I really thought would get along with Loki.

The adoption councillor was so patient and helpful. And, she had a great idea. She mentioned that she had been fostering a kitten, and that it was living with other cats and dogs. The kitten was used to playing with a large adult cat. But she had recently been spayed and was not ready for adoption yet. We agreed to come back later to meet her.

A week later, I went in to see if she was available. I immediately recognized the kitten from the picture I’d seen a week earlier. and there was a sign that she had been adopted. 20151202_184011

My heart sunk. I made the phone call to say she already had a home. And once again was ready to give up on the idea of adding another cat to the family.

Before I left though, I wanted to thank the adoption councillor for her help and time earlier.

Turns out, the kitten was on hold for us to meet! And, well, by the title of this blog post you can tell how that went. Welcome to the family little Furry!

20151202_210518

7 thoughts on “Welcome to the Family Furry [fyoo r-ee]

    • Thanks for stopping by Sharon! Adding a second cat to the household has been a decision many years in the making.

      Loki had kittens a few weeks after I first found her. But, as a student at the time, I was not in a position to take on more pets. Oh how I wanted to keep one of those fuzz-balls. And it would have been SO EASY because it would have been her kitten.

      For years after, I’d think about it and dismiss an idea. About two years ago I really started to consider the idea.

      I’ve done a ton of reading, albeit all on the Internet. But found some good resources including:
      How to introduce a new kitten to your resident cat (International Cat Care)
      Introducing Your New Cat to Other Pets (Humane Society of the United States)

      However, what I found the most helpful, was talking to the Adoption Councillors at my local Humane Society. They really helped me with finding the right cat personality for my home. We spent a few hours talking about Loki’s personality, what I wanted from the second cat, plans for the future, and more.

      As nervous as I was, my girls are doing amazingly well after only a week and a half together! In fact, they dislike being apart. Best of luck if you decide to add another furry member to your family!

      Like

  1. Congratulations on your new family member! And yay you, for being patient and doing what was right for Loki. Adoption counsellors (humane society or rescue group) are the best! They really do want what’s best for all parties. I work with a rescue group; there are always some cats who want to be the only feline in the house. (Even they sometimes surprise us!) But mostly, there’s a match out there somewhere. Enjoy your duo!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Meet Loki! | Amber's Awesome Adventures

Leave a Reply

