Dreaming of adventure in 2017

Last fall, we were planning a trip to Algonquin to hike the 35km Highland Backpacking Trail.

I know, I know. Who hikes in Algonquin? That’s THE place to go to canoe/portage. Just take a moment to do a quick Google search of this trail. It’s beautiful. And it comes highly ranked as one of the top hiking trails in Ontario. A must see! I wanted to complete the 35km trail (as opposed to the 19km loop), because what’s the point of going all that way if I’m not going to hike the entire trail? I’m a bit of a completionist.

We had it planned. We booked the days off of work. And as the day approached, I eagerly checked the forecast. It was October, so chances are it would be chilly. But I was determined that if I packed enough and wore enough layers, mittens, socks, sweaters, jackets, moisture wicking clothing… I could do this. It would work.

And slowly, my dreams of a fall hike started to dwindle. 50% chance of rain. 60% chance of rain. 70% chance of rain. 90% chance of rain.

We made the call to stay home. We cancelled our vacation days (to be used another time). We stayed in, listened to the rain, and watched a movie instead. I don’t think I’m prepared to do this as a winter adventure. As much as I’d like to. I don’t have winter camping gear or experience. I get cold easily. And winters in Northern Ontario can be quite harsh. Especially so if you’re under-prepared.

So I’ve resigned to waiting. 2017 is going to be an epic year.

We’ve already begun to plan some adventures (and I’m sure there will be more than what it planned). We will definitely make it to: Algonquin, Tobermory (and finally visit The Grotto), Cape Croker, Bon Echo. Maybe Killarney, Red River Gorge, New River Gorge, Red Rocks.

3 thoughts on “Dreaming of adventure in 2017

  1. Dreaming of adventure, that is great! What a cool post! Happy 2017 to you! xx I have got some news. Last december, I wrote my 1st E-Book called Healthy Vegan Christmas! You can get it if you subscribe by email to my blog. There are 10 new unpublished tasty recipes in it. all are vegan & 8/10 are gluten-free too! You can read all about it here: https://sophiesfoodiefiles.wordpress.com/2016/12/24/i-just-made-my-1st-e-book-called-healthy-vegan-christmas-subscribe-to-my-blog-to-get-it/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. 2017 and adventures, yes, sign me up! I agree that winter is a tough time for a number of activities, I just ran 5 miles in the rain yesterday and did not love a good chunk of it! Here’s to having some fun this year! Thanks for stopping by my blog and checking it out!

    Like

Leave a Reply

