Slow-Cooked BBQ Pig tails

Pig tails are a staple in my family. They’re plentiful and easy to find in my hometown of Kitchener, ON, which also happens to be home to the second-largest Oktoberfest in the world.

I’ve been told by my family that pig tails are a traditionally German food. So it makes sense that a family that’s lived in this city a few generations would call this a staple.

However, the recipe that serves as our base when making pig tails is from an old Canadian-Mennonite Cookbook. The city is bordered by a large Mennonite community, so this makes sense as well. What are the actual origins of the recipe, German or Mennonite? I really am not sure.

That said, the recipe I make is my own version. It’s different than the way my Dad makes it. And different than Nana’s recipe. So I think I’ve decided that it can be influenced by both potential origins.

One thing we can agree on, however, is that pig tails make a very affordable and delicious dinner. Traditionally, my family serves this with a side of roasted or boiled potato and sauerkraut.

Lately, I’ll serve it with a side of brown rice or sweet potato and a salad.

Ingredients

  • 2 1/2 lbs pig tails

BBQ Sauce

  • 2 tablespoons cooking oil (I use grapeseed)
  • 1 cup ketchup
  • 4 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup white vinegar
  • 2 teaspoons paprika
  • 1 teaspoon dry mustard
  • 1 bottle dark beer (Shhhh don’t tell S that I cook with beer)
  • 1 large sweet onion, diced
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 pint grape tomatoes (optional)
  • 1 teaspoon freshly ground pepper

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. Mix all of the BBQ Sauce ingredients.
  3. Toss the pig tails in a large roasting pan and mix in the sauce until evenly coated.
  4. Roast for 20 minutes at a high temperature.
  5. Turn the heat down to 280 degrees Fahrenheit and let it roast for 2-3 hours. The fat should render a bit, the meat will become tender, and the sauce will be caramelized.
  6. Let the meat rest for a bit before serving.
  7. Enjoy and keep lots of napkins at the table! (The sauce can be a bit messy)
Leave a Reply

